Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction

Andrew Carnegie Awards for Fiction and NonfictionThe Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction and the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Nonfiction were established in 2012 to recognize the best fiction and nonfiction books for adult readers published in the U.S. the previous year.  A shortlist of finalists is announced each May from 50 titles drawn from the previous year’s Booklist Editors’ Choice and RUSA Notable Books lists.

The awards are made possible by a grant from Carnegie Corporation of New York on the occasion of the foundation’s centennial and in recognition of Andrew Carnegie, one of the greatest benefactors of libraries both in the United States and around the globe, who recognized libraries as indispensable to the progress of society. 

Cosponsors of the award are American Library Association’s Booklist and the Reference and User Services Association (RUSA), 

Each winning author will receive $5,000, and four additional finalists will each receive $1,500.

More information, including a video of the announcement is available on the Carnegie Medal website.


Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction:

TBook cover: The Forgotten Waltzhe Forgotten Waltz
by Anne Enright,
published by W. W. Norton & Company

The vicissitudes of extramarital love and the obstructions to its smooth flow—including spouses, children, and the necessary secrecy surrounding an affair—are charted in sharp yet supple prose.

Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Nonfiction:

Book cover: Catherine the Great:  Portrait of a WomanCatherine the Great: Portrait of a Woman
by Robert K. Massie, published by Random House, an imprint of the Random House Publishing Group

A compulsively readable biography of the fascinating woman who, through a combination of luck, personality, and a fine mind, rose from her birth as a minor German princess to become the Empress of all the Russias.


Finalists Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Nonfiction:

Book cover: Lost Memory of SkinLost Memory of Skin
by Russell Banks,
published by Ecco, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

An intelligent and fearlessly sympathetic portrait of a group of society’s outsiders—sex offenders—that illuminates the moral complexities at the heart of our justice system.


Book cover: Swamplandia!Swamplandia!
by Karen Russell,
published by Alfred A. Knopf, a division of Random House, Inc.

This dazzlingly inventive first novel introduces 12-year-old gator-wrestling Ava Bigtree and her eccentric family, whose lives (and the Florida theme park they run) straddle the boundaries between the real and the surreal.



Finalists Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Nonfiction: 

Bok cover: The Information: A History, A Theory, a FloodThe Information: A History, a Theory, a Flood
by James Gleick
published by Pantheon Books, a division of Random House, Inc.

A comprehensive study describing the melodious interplay between science and literature documents the transmission of human knowledge from talking drums to the Internet.


Book cover: Malcom X: A Life of ReinventionMalcolm X: A Life of Reinvention
by Manning Marable,
published by Viking Penguin, a member of Penguin Group (USA)

This definitive work on the life of the Malcolm X corrects previous misconceptions and offers new information about the charismatic leader’s life and death during the turbulent years of the civil rights era.