(Mildred L.) Batchelder Award

Batchelder MedalThe Batchelder Award is given to the most outstanding children’s book originally published in a language other than English in a country other than the United States, and subsequently translated into English for publication in the United States.

2013 Award

 My Family for the War
written by Anne C. Voorhoeve, translated by Tammi Reichel

(Dial Books, an imprint of Penguin Group (USA) Inc.)

The book tells the story of 11-year-old Ziska who is Protestant but because of her Jewish heritage flees Nazi Germany via one of the secret trains called kindertransports.  When she joins an Orthodox Jewish household in London, she gains a new family for the war.

“’My Family for the War’ is an outstanding book about terrible choices.  It is a story of hope, humor, endurance and even romance,” said Batchelder Award Committee ChairJean Hatfield


2013 Honor Books

A Game for Swallows: To Die, To Leave, To Return
written and illustrated by Zeina Abirached
translated by Edward Gauvin.

(Graphic Universe, a division of Lerner Publishing Group)

In her graphic novel memoir, Abirached focuses on one night during the Lebanese Civil War (1975-1990) during which she, her brother, and their neighbors huddle in the safest corner of their apartment sharing memories, food and comfort.

Stark black and white illustrations strikingly depict a caring community formed during the grim reality of war, creating an unforgettable memoir, said Hatfield



Son of a Gun
written by Anne de Graaf, and translated by the author.

(Eerdmans Books for Young Readers, an imprint of Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing Co.)

Told through the eyes of a young sister and brother caught up in the Liberian Civil War, this story depicts the lives of child soldiers.  De Graaf’s research grounds the book in fact, and the character’s voices give a sense of the horror and hope they experience. 

This powerful, straightforward account of the lives of children caught up in the turmoil of war will stay with the reader long after the story ends. said Hatfield.

Medal Winner:
Soldier Bear
Honor Book:
The Lily Pond
Medal Winner:
A Time of Miracles
Honor Book:
Medal Winner:
A Faraway Island
Honor Book:
Honor Book:
Big Wolf and Little Wolf
Honor Book:
Moribito II: Guardian of the Darkness
Medal Winner:
Moribito: Guardian of the Spirit
Honor Book:
Garmann’s Summer
Honor Book:
Tiger Moon
Medal Winner:
Brave Story
Honor Book (illustration):
Nicholas and the Gang
Honor Book:
The Cat: Or, How I Lost Eternity
Medal Winner:
The Pull of the Ocean
Honor Book:
The Killer's Tears
Honor Book:
The Last Dragon
Medal Winner:
An Innocent Soldier
Honor Book:
Honor Book:
When I Was a Soldier