Cannes Film Festival

The International Film Festival was created on the initiative of Jean Zay, Minister for Education and Fine Arts, who was keen to establish an international cultural event in France to rival the Venice Film Festival.

The first edition of the Festival was originally set to be held in Cannes in 1939 under the presidency of Louis Lumière. However, it was not until over a year after the war ended that it finally took place, on 20 September 1946. It was subsequently held every September – except in 1948 and 1950 – and then every May from 1952 onwards. For more information visit the Cannes Film Festival website.

2012 Award Winners

Palme d'Or

Michael Haneke

Grand Prix Ex-aequo

Matteo Garrone

Award for Best Director

Post Tenebras Lux     
Carlos Reygadas

Award for Best Screenplay

Beyond the Hills     
După dealuri,
Cristian Mungiu
& Tatiana Niculescu Bran

Award for Best Actress

Beyond the Hills     
Cristina Flutur

Award for Best Actor

The Hunt
Mads Mikkelsen

Jury Prize

The Angels' Share     
Ken Loach

Best Actor:
The Artist
Best Actress:
Best Director:
Best Screenplay:
Hearat Shulayim (Footnote)
Grand Prix:
Bir Zamanlar Anaddolu'da (Once Upon a Time in Anatilia)
Jury Prize:
Polisse (Poliss)
Palme d'Or:
The Tree of Life
Best Motion Picture Musical or Comedy:
The Kids Are All Right
Grand Prix:
Des Hommes et des Dieux (Of Gods and Men)
Jury Prize:
Un Homme Qui Crie (A screaming man)
Palm d'Or:
LUNG BOONMEE RALUEK CHAT (Uncle Boonmee Who Can Recall His Past Lives)
The Prophet
Jury Prize:
Jury Prize:
The Fish Tank
Palm d'Or:
The White Ribbon
Grand Prix:
Jury Prize:
Il Divo
Palme d'Or:
The Class
Grand Prix:
The Mourning Forest
Jury Prize:
Silent Light
Palme d'Or:
4 Months, 3 Weeks and 2 Days